C is for Charms and Trinkets

C is for Charms and trinkets

Even before deciding to actively pursue a path of witchcraft, I obsessively collected small trinkets that I found on my travels.

This grainy, poor quality photo shows just a few of the things that I have picked up along the way. I keep them around just in case they come in handy one day, and a few of the things already have intended uses.

In the top left is a large key that I dug up at the allotment. I plan to incorporate it into a house protection charm once I have cleaned it up a little. Directly underneath it is a small key charm that was given to me by a friend.

Below the keys are three crystals, Selenite, Bloodstone and Calcite. The first two were gifts and I found the calcite whilst on the beach. I don’t really like to buy gemstones because you cannot always be certain of their origin and the environmental impact of their mining, however I do have quite a large collection of stones that I have acquired in other ways.

Underneath the crystals are a collection of Iron nails that I, once again, dug out of the ground. The largest is about 5 inches in length.

To the lower right of the image lies some seashells that I have picked up on a beach over the years, and in the upper right hand corner there are 3 hagstones aquired from the same beach. Hagstones are one of my favourite charms and I have a large collection of them. One of the stones in this photo is a pendulum, and the other a protective necklace.

This photo was taken by me for the Pagan Blog Project.

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to C is for Charms and Trinkets

  1. Aubs Tea says:

    What exactly are hagstones?

    • Patch says:

      They are stones that have a natural hole in them, via the action of water or some other process.
      They were traditionally used to protect against witchcraft and nightmares. Some of the larger ones also had healing associations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

