B is for Boyfriends

This is an odd one, but I figured that if I am going to commit to doing this project for an entire year, some of these topics will need to be regular ol’ blog posts with convenient subject headings.

Really, you can replace boyfriend in this instance with friend, family member, flatmate etc. I am talking about whether the gods hold your guests accountable to the same rules and taboos that you are when they are in your home.

This month I have had a frequent male visitor who is an agnostic Christian. The first time he walked into my room, he took one look at my shrine and went ‘woah, that looks like some kind of shrine!’ (incidentally he is the first person to ever do this, so he wins a gold star). He then proceeded to take his phone and money out of his pockets and place them on the altar. I of course, immediately removed them much to his confusion; and then went on to explain that it WAS in fact a shrine, and that most pagans have one.

Later on that night, whilst in a state of miasma; he asked about what the things on the shrine represented and proceeded to pick up the wooden snake that represents Zeus Melichios to play with it. I had to take it back and then explain the concept of miasma.

He asked if the gods would be angry because he touched the shrine and I replied that I honestly do not think so. He does not honour my gods and so I do not think they they hold him to the same rules that they hold me to. However, any fault would lie with me and the space was still defiled; so I cleansed the space as soon as I could and said the appropriate prayers.

Do the gods hold your guests accountable for the same rules as you and your household? Would fault or blame lie with you for not instructing the guest on relevant things before their approach to an altar?

Pagan blog project

This entry was posted in Altars, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to B is for Boyfriends

  1. Aubs Tea says:

    I have to agree. I don’t think that my gods would hold people who don’t know any better accountable in the same way they would hold me.

    For example, I have a four-year-old. He likes to help with at my shrine space whenever I work there. However, there are A LOT of “neat” things on said space. He likes to sneak Papa Legba’s M&Ms when he thinks I won’t notice and is always moving Erzili Freda’s atomizer. I think they find the behavior forgiveable (if not cute). They hear me admonish him about touching so they know that I’m trying.

    As for other people, they’re all aware of my pagan leanings so don’t touch things that they’re curious about.

  2. Logan says:

    I don’t think ‘We’ will be held responsible by God for what someone else do. He sees it all I guess, he know who did it. And if you will keep telling everyone what and what not to do at your home, even before they do it, you will just end up looking stupid.

    On the other hand, when they do something, that we won’t do at our home, yes, you can step up and stop them from doing it or tell them that this time you have done this, but next time I will really like if you would avoid doing this.

  3. I do not believe the gods punish us for nasty behavior, per se. Yes, some of us have stronger relationships with specific gods, and we get a bit more direction, but most do not (or so it seems to me). Instead, I think we punish ourselves, in a way. When we recognize we are in miasma, we work to cleanse ourselves. If we didn’t, WE would notice. I believe that it is very personal. There are things that I do before Hecate that would probably get other people smote LOL… but that’s how she and I work.

    So no, I don’t think the gods would hold you or even the other person accountable for ignorant mistakes. Simply educate and move on. And I have kids, too, and they do similar things. I have many owls on my Hecate shrine, and the girl twin (6) likes to stroke them and such… but also leaves offerings for Hecate and her owls when she does so. According to her, “… it’s alright for me to touch so long as I leave a pretty in return.” *shrug* LOL

  4. Jessi says:

    I don’t think the Theoi hold non-worshipers to the same standards as us, but I do think that we have an obligation to inform people when we can and to cleanse the space when necessary (both of which you did). It’s a respect thing.

  5. If any of my guests put their phone and money down on an altar without thinking about it, I’d leave it there. Perhaps they were subconsciously drawn to do that for a reason? Same if they felt moved to pick up one of the objects to handle or ‘play with’. I’d be happy to let them get on with it. Of course if they tried to wilfully cause harm to something, I’d have to intervene, but then I’d do the same if they tried that with anything else in my house. Mind you…. such people are not likely to be welcome in my home anyway.

  6. Pingback: C is for Cleansing | Tending The Hearth of The Gods

Leave a Reply

