A is for aphrodite

This year I have decided to take part in the Pagan Blog Project. Each week, using a letter as a prompt I will be blogging about something related to my path, or paganism in general. I though it would be a good idea in order to inspire me to post regularly, and also to use an an exploratory exercise for myself as my path undergoes radical changes. Since I only signed up today, I am a little behind on the ‘A’ posts; so I’m going to go ahead and post them in quick succession now.

Aphrodite

…and came forth an awful and lovely goddess, and grass grew up about her beneath her shapely feet -Hesiod’s Theogony

Aphrodite of Cnidus

This statue, although beautiful; is not the image of Aphrodite that I wanted for this post. The image I wanted to show you was of a statue that I saw in cyprus of a naked Aphrodite with a sword slung across herself, reaching as if to un-sheath it. It is one of my all time favourite representations of any of my gods, and it bought a tear to my eye when I first saw it.

It is no secret that I detest the failure of many modern pagans to perceive the notion that the gods are infinitely complex beings instead of buzzwords. Aphrodite is one of the gods that this happens to the most.

Let us consider Hesiod’s account of her birth. Heavenly Aphrodite is born of the sea and the seed of the most primordial of beings, great Ouranos. This in itself makes Aphrodite a primordial goddess, older than all of the other Olympians.

She rose from the sea, as did all multicellular, sexually reproducing life. She had to come first so we, and also the gods themselves, could procreate. Far from being just a giggling bimbo, she has directed the course of evolution. More that just a pretty face, she is a primordial creatrix.

Aphrodite Urania is always on my mind, though I primarily honour her as Pandemos. My worship of her consists of rich floral incense, fragranced teas, chocolate, apples and pomegranates. It is with joy and thanks that I approach her shrine because by her I am truly blessed.

Speaking of her shrine, the orchid is now in bloom for the fourth time. This year are are 3 delicate pink flowers which opened one after the other, each miraculously on auspicious days which I took as a good omen:

This entry was posted in Devotion, Hellenic polytheism, The gods and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A is for aphrodite

  1. arienwen says:

    You know, I never thought of putting Orchids on my Aphrodite altar. How hardy are they? I tend to have a black thumb, but I wanted to put something fresh on Her altar.

  2. Pingback: Magickal Media Blog » Blog Archive » News for Pagans, Tuesday, 1-17-12

Leave a Reply

