The holiday hoard

I trust everybody has been enjoying this holiday season, whatever you may celebrate. I had a hectic yet enjoyable Christmas with my family. My youngest cousin insisted on showing me all of his presents and before I go on I just have to say that nothing I did, gave, or received could possibly be more awesome than his nerf canon, haha.

I have been at home with my parents for the last fortnight, and was only able to bring a few basic shrine items with me in a plastic storage box. As a result, I have not been able to worship as regularly or as attentively as I would usually like. I am looking forward to being back in my own space with my altars around me once again. As time goes on I find myself able to be an armchair pagan for much shorter periods of time. After a week or so I find myself missing my practice and my time with the gods and the little itch inside me that prompts me to practice turns into an all consuming fire. I am currently trying to distract myself with religious plans for the coming year.

I got some lovely things from friends and family this year, including a pretty hanging tea light holder which I may integrate into a shrine for Hera, a gorgeous oil burner shaped like a teapot, beeswax tea lights and some myrrh oil (I prefer to burn oils in the place of incense sticks and cones as it smells nicer).

I also received enough Amazon vouchers to feed my reading addiction for a good few months. I made my first purchase with them today: Paul Huson’s Mastering Witchcraft. I AM SO EXITED!! I have wanted to read this book for months and now I finally have the disposable funds to buy it! This will technically be the first book on witchcraft that I have ever read, if you don’t count scholarly works, anthologies or encyclopaedias. Hooray for baby steps!

The next week or so is going to be extremely hectic around here, but I will return to write a real entry soon.

This entry was posted in Altars, Devotion, Life, Witchcraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The holiday hoard

  1. Aubs Tea says:

    I can’t wait to buy that book!

  2. It is a good book and wonderful to have new books to read (well old but new in your hand). 🙂

Leave a comment