Holy days, break ups and spiritual development

I have once again started to observe the holy days for some of my gods. It is something I had always done but stopped when I started re-evaluating my path. Letting such an important aspect of my practice slide was probably immensely more harmful that helpful, but what’s done is done.

As I have mentioned before, Hera started to show up in my life a few months ago (on a related note, I had a dream some time back featuring Isis. Nothing ever really became of it and I now think it was perhaps the ‘queen of heaven’ archetype that my attention was being drawn to, and not Isis herself). She herself does not have a monthly holy day in the athenian calendar that I base my personal calendar upon; and so I asked her which day she would like to have designated to her. She picked the 22nd of the lunar month, which I afterwards found out is the half moon. This seems a significant date somehow, although I am not sure why.

The 22nd began at sun down last night. However, somewhat ironically; earlier that day I broke up with my boyfriend of 2 and a half years. It was a painful yet mutual break-up and I have felt so lost and upset since that I haven’t gotten around to my devotions yet. I bought her a pomegranate earlier though, and I plan on honouring her as soon as I am more together.

It seems like  everybody I know both in person and on-line is having relationship issues right now. Like many others, I am going to use this time to develop spiritually. I want to work on cultivating my non-corporeal relationships and applying myself diligently to this area of my work. This also has a therapeutic effect…something else to focus on.

To begin, I wish to find/write and perform a deep spiritual cleansing ritual, ready to begin many aspects of my life anew. Wish me luck.

Posting may be scarce.

This entry was posted in Devotion, Life, monthly observance, Patch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holy days, break ups and spiritual development

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about the breakup. Even if it’s a good and necessary thing, those are never easy to go through. And hopefully this will all just lead to bigger and better things for you.

    • Patch says:

      Thank you. Things are getting easier now and I am happier, which is good.
      The day of the break up, the final flower on my orchid for Aphrodite withered and died. Profound and ironic I think. xD

Leave a Reply

