Hints of Presence

Yesterday I came home from from my new flat (right now I’m stretched between two places, which is a little awkward and not all that cost effective either) and went straight upstairs to my altar. I finished burning down a candle I had offered to Zeus, and lit one for Hera (who has been trying to get my attention recently). I sat down to meditate and wait for the candle to extinguish when I heard a ‘ping’ sound from another room.

The sound came from an old German music box that was gifted to me when I was very young. Nobody was in the house to make it work, and it never normally makes any sound by itself.

I simply called out, ‘and hail to you, household spirits! I will light you some incense also!’.

As if by reply, the music box went ‘ping’ once more.

This entry was posted in Devotion, Household gods and spirits, Religious practice, UPG and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hints of Presence

  1. I used to have a small music box that did that every so often when I was a teenager.. it used to freak me out when it happened in the middle of the night. Your approach to this though was great 🙂 It never would have occurred to me back in the day when I had a music box!

Leave a Reply

