Tiny devotions

Every day when I pass my shrines, I press my fingers to my lips and then gingerly touch whatever items represent the gods. Sometimes I will just touch the base of the shrine and other times I will pick up my little Hermes statue and kiss it on the forehead.

On days when I am in a state of miasma I simply smile and nod towards the shrines instead of touching them.

This is the only physical act of devotion I do in front of others, and it’s only recently that I have actually noticed that I do it at all.  But regardless of what is going on in my day, I am entirely myself for that tiny moment and think more clearly than any other point.

This entry was posted in Religious practice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tiny devotions

  1. I do that too. though as it is often in passing I more often then not just kiss my fingertips and extend my hands towards the shrine without actually touching anything.

  2. Pingback: Weekly round-up of interesting links « The House of Vines

  3. Sariel says:

    This is very beautiful, thank you for sharing.

  4. Aj / Melia says:

    I do something similar but never thought of it as a devotional act. Thanks for pointing it out.

  5. Castus says:

    Sometimes, such little things can be what keep us going. Worship does not need to be flashy and extravagant; merely sincere.

Leave a Reply

