Hekate’s Deipnon and my (kinda) new altar

At the time of the dark moon (which was some time last week now for those that don’t know) I celebrated Hekate’s Deipnon. It was the first religious observance I have done since living here.

In the daytime I cleaned the entire flat, which is a serious achievement, as this place is absolutely disgusting. I did everybody’s washing up (I washed plates which I am almost certain have been there since the dawn of time), put everything away, disinfected surfaces, vacuumed and tidied. All of this I did whilst feeling shitty and getting dizzy if I stood up for too long.

In the evening I purified my new room for the first time with bay leaves and then set up a temporary altar. I offered incense, an egg, cake and libations, and asked for blessings and protection for the coming month. I started as I mean to carry on. I live alone now so I have no excuse not to honour the gods correctly beyond my own laziness.

In addition to this, I explained a little about the Deipnon to my boyfriend, Dave. He knows I practice a religion that he can’t pronounce (and thinks I’m crazy), and knows a few basics; but I figured it’s about time that I start going into a little more detail about the specifics. I actually used the term ‘shit your pants scary’ to describe Hekate, and I stand by that description!! Haha

When the ritual was over and it was time to pack away the altar, I felt sad. I realised how much of a hassle it would be to have to set up an altar every time I wanted to do anything, plus I really love having an altar space permanently.  So there, at midnight and on a whim, I decided to rearrange my entire room to accommodate a space where I can have some sort of altar. It is a lower bookshelf, and is less of a working space and more of a ‘sacred storage zone’ where I can keep my sacred items on show at all times and can reach for them and use them every day. Pictures soon!

This entry was posted in Life, monthly observance, Religious practice and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hekate’s Deipnon and my (kinda) new altar

  1. I was going to say that I’ll like to see the pictures, before reaching the end of the text where you point they’ll be here soon; so we’re waiting for seeing how the space is going to be set. 🙂

  2. nifty says:

    yay, i’m glad you are able to have a shelf – it still makes all the difference I think!!! i get to have several altars in my home that are permanent and ever changing , i am such a lucky bum, and i wish everyone to have the same!!

Leave a Reply

