A helpful dream

It’s been a while since I managed to get online and look at this blog, I moved into my uni dorm on the 24th, but we didn’t get internet until almost a week later. Life is good, people are nice, and my course looks interesting. I haven’t done much in the way of devotional things for the gods this week, but now I am all settled in, that will change. It gets to a point where I can’t wait anymore and really want to get back to worship.

Anyway, the other night I had a dream. In this dream I was given an acorn and placed in a forest with some kind of odd tunnel running through it. The idea was that I should walk through this tunnel, and completely re-evaluate my path by the time I came out the other end. I should then plant the acorn; and walk away.

And so I did. As I walked I first started saying aloud the things I should drop from practice, and then saying aloud the things I should adopt. It was so very simple, yet so helpful. The thing is, for a very long time I have not been truly happy with the way I have been practicing. It’s like my mindset and my knowledge has evolved tenfold but the things I am doing are staying exactly the same. Using a mostly orthopraxic methodology doesn’t help things either, haha.

I didn’t actually get around to burying the acorn at the end of the dream, and I guess that is significant too. But now I know for sure what I knew in the back of my mind all along. Things need to change and I’m starting to finally work out HOW. Watch this space!

Right now, I’m off to offer a pomegranate to Aphrodite, Hera and Persephone. All three goddesses are patrons of a particular area of my life, and all three are heavily associated with the symbolism of the fruit. They have definitely deserved a ‘thank you’ recently.

This entry was posted in dreams, Life, Patch, Religious practice, university and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

