D is for Deipnon (again!)

This was last years D topic too, but it was Hekate’s Deipnon a few days ago and so I saved this brief little post for today!

I did my usual ritual in which I cleaned my shrines and cleansed my living space with lavender, rosemary and bay. I offered Hekate an egg, wine, Myrrh incense and some home-made granola (I know this sounds odd, but my mother had made it fresh that day as a gift for me and it was so special and delicious that I figured it was definitely something nice to share with a goddess). I asked Hekate to protect some people close to me who are going through a rough time, and did a reading with my casting collection for the coming month. It hinted at more intense spiritual things to come that I should prepare for.

On this months cleaning agenda was organising the drawer I keep a lot of my religious supplies in. I don’t know about anybody else, but belonging to a religion of stuff does not help my packrat tendencies. My biggest problem? Hoarding containers. I had to put containers in containers and then label those containers so that in the future, I’d be able to find relevant containers.

I also did something witchcraft related. I really need to sit down and write a proper post about the shit that’s going down in this aspect of my practice, but honestly I never know how to word it. I always look at what I have written and think that it doesn’t represent what I mean at  all. That aside, let me show you what I did:

Image

I have a couple of pieces of jewellery that I wanted to charge for protection. So I placed them in a bowl along with some tigers eye, quartz, and whatever herbs I had on hand with protective qualities and have left them to charge in there until the full moon. Whenever I walk past the bowl I give it a shake and occasionally put some more herbs and resins in there. Right now the bowl contains bay, hyssop, frankincense and nettle I think!

This entry was posted in festival, Hellenic polytheism, monthly observance, Religious practice, Ritual, Witchcraft and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to D is for Deipnon (again!)

  1. ladyimbrium says:

    What do you mean you don’t have the words? That made perfect sense! Don’t sell yourself so short ;)

Leave a Reply

