A is for Altar

SL372453

I realise I haven’t yet posted a photo of what my altar looks like in the new house. This was taken shortly before Christmas (I have altar cloths that I rotate seasonally. This is my holiday cloth, with pretty candles and stars on it) when I bought a miniature box of roses chocolates and offered one to each of my gods for a mini-devotional.

The central candle is for Hestia, whom I have started honouring regularly again (I thought rigid household practice was stifling me, but I really enjoy that aspect of my practice and just don’t feel right without giving regular honour to her). It’s a beeswax tea light in a ramekin dish, as my ‘Hestia’ candle holder was in storage at the time, but I have since unpacked it.

The other gods and spirits represented here are Hermes, Hera, Aphrodite, Athene, and the Agathos Daimon. The Agathos Daimon and Aphrodite don’t have permanent representation on this altar. Aphrodite has a little shrine of her own elsewhere, and I am working something out for my daimon. The rest of the gods do have representation, and I am working on finding an offering vessel for each of them; right now Hermes has the handmade clay pot for coin offerings, and Hera has a beautiful peacock bowl. I guess you could say that this altar is actually a collection of individual shrines on the same surface, with a working space at the front.

I am still working on making this space beautiful, as the aesthetics of my altars and shrines are important to me. There is a huge, empty space above the altar which is overwhelmingly beige and dull. I want pretty artwork to hang above the altar, but I don’t know what to get! I want yet more representation of my gods, or things I find to be sacred. Recommendations of artists are always appreciated!

This entry was posted in Altars, The gods and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A is for Altar

  1. Hi there! I wanted to let you know, I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award. :) You can find the info at http://ambertemple.blogspot.com/2013/01/ive-been-nominated.html

Leave a Reply

